Author Profile

Legal India News Admin

Posted On by &filed under .

What are the types of consent?

What are the types of consent?

There are three types of consent issued under the provisions of Water (P & CP) Act 1974 and Air (P & CP) Act, 1981.

Consent to Establish – All the industries and activities needing consent must obtain consent to establish before actual commencement of the works for establishing the industry/activity.

Consent to Operate – This consent needs to be taken before actual commencement of production including trial production. This consent is valid for certain duration.

Renewal of Consent to Operate – The consent to operate is renewed after certain period.

Any industry, operation or process or an extension and addition thereto, which is likely to discharge sewerage or trade effluent into the environment or likely to emit any air pollution into the atmosphere will have to obtain consent of the State Pollution Control Board under the provisions of Water (P & CP) Act, 1974 and Air (P & CP) Act, 1981.

Similarly any industry / process generating, storing, transporting, disposing or handling hazardous waste as defined in schedule 1 and 2 of Hazardous waste (Handing and Management) Rules, 1989, as amended in 2000 are required to obtain authorization from MPC Board under the said rules.

The medical institutions generating biomedical waste as defined in Biomedical Waste (M & H) Rules, 1989 are required to obtain Authorisation under the said rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *