Posted On by &filed under Top Law News.

Five candidates from ABVP and the NSUI, disqualified to contest Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) polls, approached the Delhi High Court challenging the university’s decision.

Deepak Negi (NSUI) and Rohit Chahal (ABVP) for the president’s post, Umesh Tomar (NSUI) for the post of vice president, Lalit Kumar (ABVP) for secretary and Ashok Khare (ABVP) for joint secretary – were disqualified by the DU’s election officer.
The five were found spending more money than the fixed amount of Rs.5,000, using cars and organising rallies in the election campaigns, which was against the Lyngdoh’s recommendations.

In their petition, the ABVP candidates alleged the university has misinterpreted the recommendations and sought the court restore their right to contest the elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *