Justice Ranjana Desai to head Commission for Delimitation of Parliamentary Constituencies of J&K and NE States.

The Central govt. has constituted the Delimitation Commission for the purpose of delimitation of Assembly & Parliamentary constituencies in the Union territory of Jammu & Kashmir and the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur & Nagaland.

The primary function of a Delimitation commission is to fix the limits/ boundaries of the various assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies.

As per a notification issued in by the Union Law Ministry on Friday, the Commission will be headed by former Supreme Court judge, Justice (Retd.) Ranjana Desai, whose tenure will last a year or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

The Commission will also consist of 2 members, viz. an Election Commissioner (presently Mr. Sushil Chandra) and the State Election Commissioners of the concerned States and UT.

The Commission will delimit the constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir in accordance with the provisions of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, and of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland in accordance with the provisions of the Delimitation Act, 2002, the notification said.

Pertinently, Section 60 of the J&K Reorganisation Act stipulates that the number of seats in its Legislative Assembly will be increased to 114, from the present 107.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. More Information