Justices KM Joseph to take charge in Supreme Court

NEW DELHI:  Justice K.M. Joseph, the Chief Justice of the Uttarakhand High Court, has taken oath as a judge of the Supreme Court on Tuesday. It came out with a notification last Friday on the appointment of three judges to the apex court by putting at third position the seniority of Justice K M Joseph.  The Centre on its part said it went purely by the “time tested” principle of high court seniority list.

The oath-taking ceremony of the three judges elevated to the Supreme Court—Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran and K.M. Joseph—took place as scheduled on Tuesday in the order of seniority notified by the Centre. The oath was administered to the three judges by Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra in a packed courtroom in presence of all judges, law officers and advocates. With the appointment of the three judges, the total strength of the judges in the apex court has gone up to 25 against the sanctioned strength of 31.

Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran and K M Joseph — will take place as scheduled tomorrow in the order of seniority notified by the Centre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *