Responsive image

Six Professors charged in Mayapuri radiation case

Delhi Police Friday filed a charge sheet against six Delhi University professors in the Mayapuri radiation leak incident that killed one and affected eight last year.

The charge sheet filed in the court of Metropolitan Magistrate Lovlee names six chemistry department professors – V.S. Parmar, Rakesh Kumar, Ramesh Chandra Rastogi, Ashok Kumar, Rita Kakkar and Rooplal.

All of them have been charged under section 337 (causing hurt by act endangering life), 338 (causing grievous hurt by act endangering life), 304A (causing death by negligence) of the Indian Penal Code (IPC).

Meanwhile, Delhi Police has listed 60 witnesses in the case.

It was last April that a metal pipe discarded from Delhi University?s chemistry laboratory, containing the radioactive Cobalt 60, was found in Mayapuri scrap market.

The unprotected pipe killed one person and affected eight people, including scrap dealer Ajay Jain, 40.

Jain had to sell his shop to pay around Rs.18 lakh for his treatment. Deepak Jain, 33, another affected scrap dealer, had to shell out Rs.10 lakh.

The victims have also approached the Delhi High Court seeking compensation as the government, despite promises, had not compensated any of them.

Besides the high cost of treatment, the victims also suffer from ensuing health problems. Ajay Jain cannot walk as doctors had to peel off infected flesh, from some parts of his stomach, thighs and legs which were critically affected by radiation.

After the incident, the authorities put up instruments to detect radiation.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

© 2021 - Legal News India – News Updates of Advocates, Law Firms, Law Institutes, Courts & Bars of India
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. More Information