Responsive image

Supreme Court Collegium proposes Elevation of Justices Ravindra Bhat, Krishna Murari, Hrishikesh and Ramasubramanian Roy as Supreme Court Judges [Read Resolution]

The SC Collegium has recommended the elevation of four Chief Justices of High Courts as Supreme Court judges.
They are :

1.    Justice S Ravindra Bhat, Chief Justice of High Court of Rajasthan
2.    Justice V Ramasubramanian, Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal Pradesh
3.    Justice Hrishikesh Roy, Chief Justice of High Court of Kerala.
4.    Justice Krishna Murari, Chief Justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court.

The Collegium of CJI Ranjan Gogoi, Justices Bobde, Ramana, Arun Mishra & R F Nariman said that they have taken into consideration the combined seniority of all judges & has kept in mind the desirability of giving due representation to all High Courts, as far as possible.

Justice S Ravindra Bhat

Justice Shripathi Ravindra Bhat (born 21 October 1958) is Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court He was Judge in Delhi High Court.

Born on 21 October 1958, at Mysore. Educated in Bangalore and Gwalior. Finished schooling from Central School, Faridabad. Thereafter completed graduation in B.A.(.Hons) in English literature from Hindu College, Delhi University, 1979. Graduated in law (LL.B) from Campus Law Centre, Delhi University (1982). Enrolled with Delhi Bar Council in August 1982. Commenced law practice in 1982. Practised before the Delhi High Court, Supreme Court. During the course of law practice, had exposure in different branches of law as Public Law, Banking, Education, Labour and Service, and Indirect Taxation. Assumed office as Additional Judge of Delhi High Court on 16 July 2004, and Permanent Judge of Delhi High Court on 20 February 2006.

He was appointed Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court on 30 April 2019. He took oath as Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court on 5 May 2019

Justice V Ramasubramanian

Justice V. Ramasubramanian (born 30 June 1958) is an Indian Judge and the Chief justice of the Himachal Pradesh High Court. He is former Judge of Madras High Court and Telangana High Court.

 Justice Hrishikesh Roy

Hrishikesh Roy (born 1 February 1960) is an Indian judge and the present Chief Justice of Kerala.

In 1982, Roy passed LL.B. from University of Delhi. He was initially enrolled under the Bar Council of Delhi thereafter shifted to Guwahati. He served as the Senior Government Advocate for the State of Arunachal Pradesh, Standing Counsel for the Assam State Electricity Board and Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council. He was designated as Senior Advocate of Gauhati High Court on 21 December 2004. Roy became an Additional Judge of Gauhati High Court on 12 October 2006 and permanent Judge on 15 July 2008. In his career he was the Executive Head of the Assam State Legal Services Authority and nominated as a member of the National Judicial Academic Council presided by the Chief Justice of India. On 29 May 2018 Justice Roy was transferred from the Gauhati High Court to Kerala High Court as the Acting Chief Justice. He became the permanent Chief Justice of the High Court on 8 August 2018 after the retirement of Justice Antony Dominic.

Justice Krishna Murari

Krishna Murari (born: 9 July 1958) is the present Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court. He was also served as Judge of Allahabad High Court till his elevation as Chief justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court.

Murari was born in a lawyer family of Uttar Pradesh. His uncle G.N Verma was a senior advocate and a leading lawyer. Murari passed LL.B. from the Allahabad University, Allahabad. He was enrolled as an Advocate on 23 December 1981 and started practice in the Allahabad High Court on Civil, Constitutional, Company and Revenue matters. In his 22 years lawyers career he served as Standing Counsel of Uttar Pradesh State Yarn Company, Northern Railway Primary Co-operative Bank, Uttar Pradesh State Textile Corporation etc. He also appeared for Bundelkhand University of Jhansi.Murari was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court on 7 January 2004 and became the Permanent Judge in 2005. On 2 June 2018 he was elevated in the post of the Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court in Chandigarh after the retirement of Justice Shiavax Jal Vazifdar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

© 2021 - Legal News India – News Updates of Advocates, Law Firms, Law Institutes, Courts & Bars of India
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. More Information