18 new judges likely to be appointed by next week

18 new judges likely to be appointed by next week
18 new judges likely to be appointed by next week

Nearly 18 new judges are likely to be appointed by next week, days after five judges were elevated as chief justices.

Sources said files relating to fresh appointments have been cleared at the highest level and may reach Rashtrapati Bhawan in the coming days.

While most of the fresh appointments relate to Madras High Court, some others belong to Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh high courts.

There are nearly 74 recommendations of the collegium under process at the government’s end. Most of the recommendations are likely to fructify into appointments by the end of September, barring “a few” cases where the executive and the judiciary have “difference of opinion,” they said.

Usually, the process of appointing judges takes between 60 to 75 days.

Some 35 files related to elevation of judges as chief justices of high courts and those related to fresh appointments are pending in the “advanced stages” with the government.

Attorney General Mukul Rohatgi had on Wednesday last told the Supreme Court that “there is progress in the appointments… We will see more progress”.

Judiciary and executive have seen at variance over appointment of judges in the recent past.

( Source – PTI )

Ansari sworn in as 14th Vice-President

Hamid Ansari was sworn-in as the Vice-President of the country for the second consecutive term by President Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi on Saturday.

Mr Ansari, 75, was administered the oath by the President at a grand ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

He had defeated NDA candidate Jaswant Singh with a comfortable margin earlier this week for his re-election as Vice-President.

Mr Ansari had polled 490 first preference votes out of 728 valid votes cast in the election held on August. Jaswant Singh polled 238 votes.

Mr Ansari got more votes than he had secured in the 2007 election. He had the backing of the Congress and its allies in the UPA, including the Nationalist Congress Party, DMK and the National Conference.

After Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Mr Ansari is the only person to have been re-elected to the office.