Posted On by &filed under Court, Judiciary & Legal System, Top Law News.

Mr Rohington F NarimanJustices Mr Arun Mishra, Mr Adarsh Kumar Goel and Mr Rohington F Nariman today assumed charge as Supreme Court judges, taking the apex court’s strength to 27, including Chief Justice Mr RM Lodha.

Justices Mr Mishra, 59, and Mr Goel, 61, were the Chief Justice of the    Calcutta High Court and the Orissa High Court respectively.

58-year-old Justice Nariman, who was a senior advocate and in the panel recommended by the Supreme Court collegium, has been elevated as an apex court judge from the bar.

The sanctioned strength oThe three judges were elevated to apex court and were administered the oath of office by CJI Lodha.

Mr Justice Mishra was part of law faculty in Jiwaji University, Gwalior from 1986 to 1996. He was appointed as Additional Judge in the Madhya Pradesh High Court on 25 October, 1999 and was made a Permanent Judge on 24 October, 2001.

He was appointed Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court on 26 November, 2010 and was transferred to the Calcutta High Court as Chief Justice on 14 December, 2012. He will have a tenure of about seven years in the apex court.

Mr Justice Goel was designated senior advocate by the Supreme Court in 1999 and two years later was appointed a judge of Punjab and Haryana High Court. He was appointed Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court on 20 December, 2011 and was transferred to the Orissa High Court as CJ on 12 October, last year.

Mr Justice Nariman is the fifth lawyer to be elevated as a Supreme Court judge and will have a term of about seven years.

f judges in the apex court is 31, including the CJI.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *